Evidence review

BPC-157 Side Effects: The Safety Record

What are the side effects of BPC-157, and what is actually known about its safety?

The answer

No controlled human study has measured the side effects of BPC-157, so no reliable list of them exists. Three uncontrolled reports from one clinic, covering 30 people, recorded no adverse events; FDA's stated concerns are immune reactions and impurities; and the cancer question is a theory drawn from animal biology, not an observation in people.

Molecules
BPC-157
US status
PCAC-recommended · pending
Sources
16
Reviewed
September 2026

What counts as a side effect when there is no trial?

The side-effect list printed on an approved drug's label comes from controlled trials, in which people given the drug are compared with people given a placebo, and a reaction is counted as a side effect when it turns up more often in the treated group. That comparison is what separates an effect of the drug from the aches, infections and headaches that happen to any group of people over a few months.

BPC-157 has never been through that comparison. PubMed holds 232 papers on it under its five names, and none is indexed as a clinical trial or a randomized controlled trial [4]. A 2025 systematic review of the literature up to June 2024 included 36 studies, 35 of them in animals or cells and one in people, and found no clinical safety data [5]. Anything described online as a side effect of BPC-157 is therefore one of three things: an observation in a small uncontrolled study, a finding in animals, or a risk inferred from how the molecule behaves. The sections below keep the three apart.

What has been reported in people?

Three human reports exist, all from the same Florida practice and the same lead author, and together they cover 30 people [1, 2, 3]. None had a comparison group, and none is indexed as a trial.

Their safety findings are thin for different reasons. The knee report was a telephone survey of patients treated up to a year earlier, and its abstract reports pain relief without reporting on adverse events either way [1]. The bladder study recorded no adverse events and no dropouts among 12 women [2]. The intravenous study found no change in blood markers of the heart, liver, kidneys, thyroid or glucose and no reported side effects, but both of its two participants had received intravenous BPC-157 before enrolling, so they were people who had already tolerated it [3].

Thirty people without a control group cannot reveal an uncommon harm, and they cannot show that a symptom was or was not caused by the peptide. PubMed also indexes no case report on BPC-157 at all, of harm or of benefit [4], so the human record holds neither a controlled safety signal nor an individual account of one. The BPC-157 human trial record reads the same three reports for what they say about benefit.

Every published human report on BPC-157, as indexed in PubMed in September 2026
ReportDesignPeopleHow it was givenAdverse events reported
Knee pain, 2021 [1]Retrospective chart review with telephone follow-up; no comparison group16 (12 BPC-157 alone, 4 with thymosin beta-4)Injected into the kneeNot reported in the abstract
Interstitial cystitis, 2024 [2]Single-arm pilot; no comparison group12 womenInjected around the bladder during cystoscopy, onceNone; no dropouts
Intravenous safety, 2025 [3]Pilot; no comparison group2 adults already given it beforeIntravenous infusion on two consecutive daysNone; blood markers unchanged
  • ReportKnee pain, 2021 [1]
    DesignRetrospective chart review with telephone follow-up; no comparison group
    People16 (12 BPC-157 alone, 4 with thymosin beta-4)
    How it was givenInjected into the knee
    Adverse events reportedNot reported in the abstract
  • ReportInterstitial cystitis, 2024 [2]
    DesignSingle-arm pilot; no comparison group
    People12 women
    How it was givenInjected around the bladder during cystoscopy, once
    Adverse events reportedNone; no dropouts
  • ReportIntravenous safety, 2025 [3]
    DesignPilot; no comparison group
    People2 adults already given it before
    How it was givenIntravenous infusion on two consecutive days
    Adverse events reportedNone; blood markers unchanged

What did FDA say about its safety?

FDA placed BPC-157 in Category 2 of its interim bulk substances list in September 2023, the category for substances that may present significant safety risks, which barred licensed pharmacies from compounding it [8]. Its stated reasons, still on the agency's safety-risk page as of April 22, 2026, are that compounded drugs containing BPC-157 "may pose risk for immunogenicity for certain routes of administration and may have complexities with regard to peptide-related impurities and active pharmaceutical ingredient (API) characterization" [7].

Each of those phrases names a specific worry. Immunogenicity means the body mounting an immune response against the peptide itself. Peptide-related impurities are the fragments and by-products left over from making a peptide, and API characterization is the work of confirming that the active ingredient is what it claims to be and how pure it is. FDA added that it had identified "no, or only limited, safety-related information for the proposed routes of administration," and that the agency therefore "lacks sufficient information to know whether the drug would cause harm when administered to humans" [7]. The April 2026 removal from Category 2 did not answer any of those questions; the Category 2 removal page explains what it did change.

Does BPC-157 cause cancer?

There is no human evidence either way. The question comes from the mechanism. In animal studies BPC-157 promotes the growth of new blood vessels, working through the VEGFR2 receptor and nitric oxide signaling [6], and tumors depend on new blood vessels to grow. A 2026 review of unregulated injectable peptides, which names BPC-157, lists pathological blood vessel growth and cancer promotion among the potential risks of these products [9]. That is a hypothesis from biology. No study has observed BPC-157 causing or promoting cancer in people, and no study has been large or long enough to rule it out.

The animal toxicology is reassuring in the short term and silent on the long term. A 2020 preclinical safety program in mice, rats, rabbits and dogs found no serious toxicity, no genetic toxicity and no harm to developing fetuses; injection-site irritation was mild, and repeated dosing in dogs lowered creatinine at one dose level, though not at lower ones, a change that reversed within two weeks of stopping [10]. Its abstract reports no lifetime carcinogenicity study, which is the test that would speak to the cancer question.

How long does BPC-157 last in the body?

Only in animals has that been measured. In rats and dogs, unchanged BPC-157 had an elimination half-life of under 30 minutes after injection into a vein or a muscle, and it was broken down quickly into small peptide fragments and then single amino acids, which left the body in urine and bile [11]. The 2024 systematic review repeats the same under-30-minute figure, from the same animal work [5].

No human pharmacokinetic study has been published. A phase 1 study of the safety and pharmacokinetics of an oral preparation in healthy volunteers was registered in 2015, and its record was last updated that December, carries an unknown status and has posted no results [12]. A 2026 pharmaceutics review describes BPC-157's human pharmacokinetics as largely uncharacterized [13]. An animal half-life cannot be carried over to people, and it supports no conclusion about use.

What is the risk from the product itself?

Some of the risk sits in the material rather than the molecule. BPC-157 sold online is research-use-only chemical supply, made and sold outside drug manufacturing standards, so nothing independent guarantees that a vial holds the stated peptide, in the stated amount, free of contamination and sterile. FDA's own concerns about impurities and API characterization are concerns about exactly that [7].

Reviewers name the same gap. The 2025 systematic review concluded that adverse effects are possible from unregulated manufacturing, contamination or unknown clinical safety [5], and the 2026 review of injectable peptides lists contamination, manufacturing impurities and inaccurate dosing among the risks [9]. Blends multiply the problem, because each added peptide brings its own uncertainty; the review of GLOW and KLOW blends and the review of the BPC-157 and TB-500 stack cover the two most common combinations.

Which trials are under way?

Four studies naming BPC-157 are registered on ClinicalTrials.gov, and none has posted results [12]. The most substantial is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled phase 2 trial in acute hamstring strain, recruiting since February 2026 and due to finish in 2028. If it reports as designed, it will be the first placebo-controlled human data on BPC-157, including the first comparison of adverse events against placebo.

Registered studies naming BPC-157 on ClinicalTrials.gov, as of September 2026 [12]
StudyDesignPlanned sizeStatus
NCT07437547, acute hamstring strainPhase 2, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled120Recruiting since February 2026; completion estimated February 2028
NCT07803250, after rotator cuff repairPhase 1, randomized30Not yet recruiting; start estimated January 2027
NCT02637284, healthy volunteers, oral preparationPhase 1, randomized, safety and pharmacokinetics42Unknown; last updated December 2015; no results
NCT07752381, a gummy sold as a dietary supplementSingle arm, no comparison group40 enrolledCompleted November 2025; no results posted
  • StudyNCT07437547, acute hamstring strain
    DesignPhase 2, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled
    Planned size120
    StatusRecruiting since February 2026; completion estimated February 2028
  • StudyNCT07803250, after rotator cuff repair
    DesignPhase 1, randomized
    Planned size30
    StatusNot yet recruiting; start estimated January 2027
  • StudyNCT02637284, healthy volunteers, oral preparation
    DesignPhase 1, randomized, safety and pharmacokinetics
    Planned size42
    StatusUnknown; last updated December 2015; no results
  • StudyNCT07752381, a gummy sold as a dietary supplement
    DesignSingle arm, no comparison group
    Planned size40 enrolled
    StatusCompleted November 2025; no results posted

What is BPC-157's legal status?

BPC-157 is not an approved drug, and no licensed pharmacy may lawfully compound it as of September 2026. FDA removed it from Category 2 in April 2026 without adding it to Category 1, and in July 2026 the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee voted to recommend it for the section 503A bulks list, by a margin reported as 8 to 6 with one abstention in two independent law-firm accounts [14, 15]. FDA has published no vote record for that meeting [16], and the vote is advisory until the agency issues a final rule. The pending status page and the July 2026 vote ledger carry the dated record.

Elsewhere in this index

More research on these molecules

Monographs

Reference tables

Sources

Research and regulatory records cited in this review.

  1. Lee E, Padgett B. Intra-articular injection of BPC 157 for multiple types of knee pain. Altern Ther Health Med. 2021;27(4):8-13. A retrospective chart review with telephone follow-up of 16 patients; no comparison group. PMID 34324435 Checked September 2026. Related molecule record.
  2. Lee E, Walker C, Ayadi B. Effect of BPC-157 on symptoms in patients with interstitial cystitis: a pilot study. Altern Ther Health Med. 2024;30(10):12-17. Twelve women, single arm, one treatment; no comparison group. PMID 39325560 Checked September 2026. Related molecule record.
  3. Lee E, Burgess K. Safety of intravenous infusion of BPC157 in humans: a pilot study. Altern Ther Health Med. 2025;31(5):20-24. Two adults, each of whom had received intravenous BPC-157 before the study. PMID 40131143 Checked September 2026. Related molecule record.
  4. PubMed, National Library of Medicine. Searches run September 2026 across five BPC-157 name variants, returning 232 records, 57 carrying the Humans MeSH term, and 0 under each of the clinical-trial, randomized-controlled-trial and case-report publication types. The filters were proved live in the same run against the control term aspirin (8,916 records under the clinical-trial type), and the invalid identifier 99999999 errored. Source Checked September 2026. Related molecule record.
  5. Vasireddi N, Hahamyan H, Salata MJ, et al. Emerging use of BPC-157 in orthopaedic sports medicine: a systematic review. HSS J. 2025;21(4):485-495. PMID 40756949 Checked September 2026. Related molecule record.
  6. McGuire FP, Martinez R, Lenz A, Skinner L, Cushman DM. Regeneration or risk? A narrative review of BPC-157 for musculoskeletal healing. Curr Rev Musculoskelet Med. 2025;18(12):611-619. PMID 40789979 Checked September 2026. Related molecule record.
  7. US Food and Drug Administration. Certain bulk drug substances for use in compounding that may present significant safety risks (the Category 2 rationale for BPC-157). Content current as of April 22, 2026. Read September 2026. Source Checked September 2026. Related molecule record.
  8. US Food and Drug Administration. Interim Policy on Compounding Using Bulk Drug Substances Under Section 503A of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, guidance for industry, January 2025, docket FDA-2015-D-3517: the policy that defines Categories 1, 2 and 3, under which BPC-157 was placed in Category 2 in September 2023. Read September 2026. Source Checked August 2026. Related molecule record.
  9. Moiz A, O'Keefe EL, O'Keefe JH. Dangers of injectable peptides and other unregulated "biohacking" drugs. Mo Med. 2026;123(4):337-343. PMID 42757290 Checked September 2026. Related molecule record.
  10. Xu C, Sun L, Ren F, et al. Preclinical safety evaluation of body protective compound-157, a potential drug for treating various wounds. Regul Toxicol Pharmacol. 2020;114:104665. PMID 32334036 Checked September 2026. Related molecule record.
  11. He L, Feng D, Guo H, et al. Pharmacokinetics, distribution, metabolism, and excretion of body-protective compound 157, a potential drug for treating various wounds, in rats and dogs. Front Pharmacol. 2022;13:1026182. PMID 36588717 Checked September 2026. Related molecule record.
  12. ClinicalTrials.gov, National Library of Medicine, v2 API. Searches run September 2026: "BPC-157" and its spelling variants returned the same four registered studies, NCT07437547, NCT07803250, NCT02637284 and NCT07752381, each read individually; none has posted results. Control in the same run: "aspirin" returned 2,968 studies. Source Checked September 2026. Related molecule record.
  13. Mateescu DM, Gavrilescu DM, Constantinescu FE, et al. BPC-157 as an investigational peptide therapeutic: biopharmaceutical challenges, formulation strategies, and translational development barriers. Pharmaceutics. 2026. PMID 42198317 Checked August 2026. Related molecule record.
  14. McDermott Will & Schulte. Bulk-list bound? PCAC backs majority of peptides in two-day public meeting. July 27, 2026. Read August 2026. A secondary account, cited because the FDA has published no minutes, transcript or vote summary for the July 23–24, 2026 meeting. Source Checked August 2026. Related molecule record.
  15. LumaLex Law. The July 2026 PCAC Peptide Meeting. July 25, 2026. Read August 2026. A second, independent secondary account; it prints BPC-157 at 8–6–1, and the two accounts agree substance by substance. Source Checked August 2026. Related molecule record.
  16. US Food and Drug Administration. Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting, July 23–24, 2026. Source Checked August 2026. Related molecule record.